Scholars Trust – Cooperative Journal Retention


Scholars Trust logo

Program Overview

Scholars Trust represents the shared print journal archives of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL), the Florida Academic Repository (FLARE), and the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).

Scholars Trust was established in early 2013, when ASERL and WRLC combined the contents of their respective print journal archives under a single retention and access agreement, and extended reciprocal priority Inter-Library Loan (ILL) services across the group.

The ASERL Collaborative Journal Retention Program Agreement for Libraries Participating in Scholars Trust, in effect through December 31, 2035, optimizes collection management across the consortium.  To participate, an ASERL library need only submit a concise letter of agreement signed by the library dean (or higher authority) affirming to comply with the program policies.
Sample Letter of Agreement


Scholars Trust is governed by an Oversight Committee that is responsible for guiding collective efforts among member programs and their participating libraries to develop shared print journal collections in the region.

Scholars Trust Governance, to be implemented in January 2023


Title Lists

As of August 2022, the combined title list for Scholars Trust is just shy of 48,000 unique titles.  The most current listing of Scholars Trust retained titles can be found in the Center for Research Libraries PAPR | Print Archives Preservation Registry.  Additionally, the title list is available in an Excel spreadsheet (Updated 11-2022).  Please be aware that this is a large file and may take additional time to load.  A summary assessment of the collection [in pdf], a summary report of the subject class of retained titles and a listing of titles committed for retention by the National Agricultural Library (2018) are also available.


Supporting Documentation


JRNL – Journal Retention and Needs Listing Tool
The Journal Retention and Needs Listing (JRNL) tool was first developed as a way for participating institutions to track journal retention commitments between the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) and Florida State University System (SUS) partners.  JRNL allows users to upload current journal holdings and identify particular gaps in those holdings. Further, users can determine if their institution has holdings that could be donated to other institutions to fill those gaps.

A JRNL Oversight Committee, consisting of representatives from each participating consortium, develops policies to guide development of and participation in JRNL.

JRNL login page:
System Administrator Contact:

List of valid 1-2 Character Subject Classes for JRNL Bibliographic Records

Video Recording:  Journal Retention and Needs Listing [JRNL] Demo
May 15, 2019 | Session Recording

The following ASERL libraries are participating in this program:

  1. Auburn University
  2. Clemson University
  3. College of William & Mary
  4. Duke University
  5. East Carolina University
  6. Emory University
  7. Florida International University
  8. Florida State University
  9. George Mason University
  10. Georgia State University
  11. Georgia Tech
  12. Johns Hopkins University
  13. Louisiana State University
  14. Mississippi State University
  15. National Agricultural Library (ASERL Program Affiliate)
  16. North Carolina State University
  17. Tulane University
  18. University of Alabama
  19. University of Central Florida
  20. University of Florida
  21. University of Georgia
  22. University of Kentucky
  23. University of Louisville
  24. University of Memphis
  25. University of Miami
  26. University of Mississippi
  27. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  28. University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  29. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  30. University of South Carolina
  31. University of Tennessee
  32. University of Virginia
  33. Vanderbilt University
  34. Virginia Commonwealth University
  35. Virginia Tech
  36. Wake Forest University

For more information about this effort, please contact John Burger or Cheryle Cole-Bennett

We have launched our new website and appreciate reports of any issues found or difficulties encountered. If you are looking for content that may have moved, please try the Search box at the top of the website before submitting feedback.

The Website Feedback button is located in the footer.

Thank you for your help and understanding as we transition to this new website.