Supporting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in our Libraries

ASERL and its member libraries have long supported just and equitable access to information resources, and strive to build collections, services, and staffs that reflect the diverse nature of the communities we serve.  In May 2018, ASERL members unanimously approved a Values Statement on Diversity and Inclusion.  

As part of that statement, ASERL members strive to:

  1. Understand and communicate the principles of diversity and inclusion in order to attract, retain, and grow the skills of employees from a variety of populations;
  2. Set achievable and measurable goals, and regularly monitor and assess progress towards those goals;
  3. Seek constructive input from employees at all levels of our organizations to ensure programming is relevant and useful;
  4. Allocate resources to ensure programming is successful and sustainable;
  5. Build library collections that reflect the diversity of the communities we serve;
  6. Maintain transparency regarding our successes and challenges over time;
  7. Acknowledge impact of past and present actions.

 ASERL DEI Committee Members:

Current Initiatives:

The DEI Taskforce has undertaken a multiphase approach to its work and is in Phase 3 of its initiative.

PHASE I: The DEI Taskforce completed an environmental scan of DEI retention and recruitment practices among non-profit, for-profit and tech startup companies. 

Last NameFirst NameUniversity
BartleyKelsaUniversity of Miami, Medical Center
Ben-KnaanKineretUniversity of Miami
Buenaventura (Ven)BascoUniversity of Central Florida
BrannenMichelleUT, Knoxville
CarrilloErinVirginia Commonwealth University
ClemonsAdamUniversity of Mississippi
CoghillDonnaVirginia Commonwealth University
DoanJoyUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
FittsMichael S.University of Alabama, Birmingham
GrahamAdrienneGeorgia State University
HaleGraceVirginia Commonwealth University
HodgeTwannaUniversity of Florida
HolmesGeraldUniversity of North Carolina at Greensboro
HuntColiseEast Carolina University
ManningKarenGeorgia Tech
McElfreshJenessaClemson University
McLellanAmandaEast Carolina University
PalmerMeganClemson University
PellerinAmandaGeorgia Tech
RiggsSandraUniversity of Georgia
SamuelsGlenUniversity of Central Florida
SheldonKimberlyGeorgia Tech
ShraugerKristineUniversity of Central Florida
TillmanTeresaDuke University

PHASE 2: This phase took the outcomes from Phase 1 and completed the following tasks:

  • A conversation with DEI Librarians
  • An analysis of DEI statements, mission, vision, and strategic plans among ASERL and ARL institutions
  • A look into Diversity Residency Programs
  • Assessment Instrument – Retention
Last NameFirst NameUniversity
Ben-KnaanKineretUniversity of Miami
BrannenMichelleUT Knoxville
CarrilloErinVirginia Commonwealth University
Kimberly SheldonGeorgia Tech
FittsMichael S.University of Alabama Birmingham
GrahamAdrienneGeorgia State University
HodgeTwannaUniversity of Florida
HuntColiseEast Carolina University
LaningMelissaUniversity of Louisville
ManningKarenGeorgia Tech
McLellanAmandaEast Carolina University
EadsDenelleUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
ChandlerReneshaUniversity of Louisville

PHASE 3: Looking at benchmarks for recruitment and retention

Team Members include:

News & Updates

  • NEWS: ASERL and BTAA launch Library Accessibility Partnership. See the announcement.
  • ASERL has hosted several DEI related webinars.  Current listings are available on our home page and previous webinars which include the recordings and slides are available on our ASERL archive page.
  • ASERL has recruited ASERL members for our ASERL DEI Taskforce.  The ASERL DEI Taskforce will focus on recruitment and retention trends along with creating an environmental scan of the ASERL member libraries. The ASERL DEI Taskforce also hosts several DEI related webinars and will work on some regional trainings that will take place in 2022.
  • For more information including current roster, timeline and outcomes, visit ASERL DEI Taskforce Libguide